Homemade Almond & Hazelnut milk {vegan, raw, gluten-free}

Nut milk - vegan, raw, gluten-free - A pinch of meIn the last few months, my diet has changed a lot. And the more I read about it, the more it interests me, but it also scares me. To know what has happened with your food before it ends on your plate is just terrifying. That’s why I try to make as much from scratch as possible. I have been drinking nut milks for the last year or so, but just like the applesauce, I had no idea you could easily make it yourself. It’s really easy, doesn’t require a lot of work, only some preparation time since you need to soak the nuts a night.

I tried two versions, one with almonds and one with hazelnuts, but you can mix them or try other nuts, the principle stays the same.

Only thing is, the milk gets sour fast, so if anyone has some tips for that, feel free!

  • 1 cup raw nuts 
  • 4 cups filtered water + more for soaking
  • 2 dates

Nut milk - vegan, raw, gluten-free - A pinch of me

How to:

  • Soak the nuts overnight in a bowl of water.
  • Strain and rinse the soaked nuts.
  • Ladle the nuts and water into the juicer.
  • If you want a sweeter milk add the dates.
This entry was posted in breakfast, gluten-free, juice, raw, recipes, vegan, vegetarian. Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Homemade Almond & Hazelnut milk {vegan, raw, gluten-free}

  1. Samantha @ The Ascension House says:

    Mmm! I love your bottles! My homemade nut milks usually last at least a week! I also read that you can use the ‘sour’ milk in baking and other ways, because, even though it’s sour.. nut milk doesn’t actually ‘go bad!’ :)

  2. veedine10 says:

    I love the taste of homemade almond milk, especially in smoothies! Adding some cinnamon and a pinch of salt also adds an interesting variation to it. I’ve never tried hazelnut milk before though – think I should give it a go soon!

  3. slcobb@cox.net says:

    I do homemade cashew milk this way, (I am allergic to almonds and hazelnuts!) but I have never tried adding dates. That should be amazing! ;)

  4. Fiona Alicen says:

    You do have an outstanding blog, thank you for your good recipes. I love to cook and bake without sugar or GMO ingredients like most of soya products. My almond and hazelnut usage is massive! I do always filter the water that might help to make the milk last longer. Perhaps it does also depend on the nuts, if you use organic ones or not.

Leave a comment